NPSMA Awards

Each year at its National Conference held in November, NPSMA will present awards to outstanding members of the PSM community. Recognition will be given to those individuals who have made a difference. Please take a moment to consider your colleagues who have made outstanding contributions to the PSM program or to the NPSMA.  Nominations for awards are accepted throughout the year. 

See the 2020 Call for Award Nominations Letter and then complete the NPSMA Award Nomination Form.  Submit completed forms, with the supporting documentation required, to

Nominations must be received by October 15, 2020 to be considered for the November 2020 National Conference Awards Ceremony. Nominations received after this deadline will be considered for the following year.

President’s Award 
To a Member of the PSM Community for outstanding contributions or service to the PSM Initiative.

      2019 Recipient:
      Courtney Thornton, North Carolina State University

      2018 Recipient:
      Linda Strausbaugh, University of Connecticut (Emeritus)

      2016 Recipient:
      Debra Warren-Hite, National Professional Science Master's Association

      2015 Recipient:
      Saeed Foroudastan, Middle Tennesee State University

      2014 Recipient:
      Donald Langenberg, University System of Maryland (Emeritus)

      2013 Recipient:
      Bogdan Vernescu, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

      2012 Recipient:       
      Sheila Tobias, Author and Consultant

Board of Directors Award 
To a PSM Program Director, Faculty Member, Staff Person, Alumnus/Alumna, Student for outstanding contributions to a PSM Program (e.g. having undertaken innovative steps in curriculum development or program design or plus course offerings; exemplary teaching; service to and support of a PSM program(s); or leadership of a PSM Ambassador Chapter).

To an Industry Leader for outstanding contributions to a PSM program(s), NPSMA, or the PSM Initiative (e.g. having hired the most PSM graduates, provided exemplary advisory board service or exemplary support to PSM programs or NPSMA).

     2019 Recipient:
     Ray Hoobler, University of Utah

     2018 Recipient:
     Heidi Harkins, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

     2017 Recipients:
     Carol Lynch, University of Colorado, Boulder

     Michael Teitelbaum, Distinguished Demographer; former Vice President of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation;
     Senior Research Associate, Labor and Worklife Program, Harvard Law School

     2016 Recipients:
     Todd Arnold, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai; Mount Sinai Genetic Testing Laboratory
     Chelsea Nihill, Middle Tennessee State University

     2015 Recipient:
     Elizabeth Friedman, Illinois Institute of Technology

     2014 Recipients:
     Rana Kahn, University of Maryland University College
     Gerald Santoro, Pennsylvania State University

     2013 Recipients:
     Dagmar Beck, Rice University
     Peiru Wu, Michigan State University

     2012 Recipients:  
     Cynthia Bainton, Northeastern University
     Saeed Foroudastan, Middle Tennesee State University

Advisory Board Award 
To an Industry Leader – outstanding contribution by a corporate or industry leader (e.g. industry leader who has hired the most PSM grads, or given support to PSM programs or the NPSMA). This category was awarded during 2012 - 2014.

     2014 Recipient:
     Ross Grossman, Regeneron (Emeritus)

     2013 Recipient
     EMD Serono, Inc.

     2012 Recipient:       
     Michael Morad, Covidien Vascular Therapies 

Certificate of Special Recognition
     2013 Recipient:
     Eleanor Babco (Posthumous)         

National Professional STEM Master's Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, P.O. Box 571351, Salt Lake City, UT 84157

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software